The Faculty of Architecture and Landscape Sciences comprises of nine institutes. The institutes cover the fields of architecture, urban planning, vocational sciences in construction, landscape architecture, open space development and environmental planning. Detailed information about persons and teaching contents can be found on the corresponding institute and department pages.


Landscape and Environmental Planning

  • Institute of Open Space Planning and Design

    Institute of Open Space Planning and Design

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bettina Oppermann
    Department for Open Space Policy and Planning Communication

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Prominski
    Department of Designing Urban Landscapes

  • Institute of Landscape Architecture

    Institute of Landscape Architecture

    Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Gilbert Lösken
    Department for Technical-Constructive Principles of Open Space Planning

    Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Katja Benfer
    Department for Presentation and Design

    Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Christian Werthmann
    Department of Landscape Architecture and Design

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Wolschke-Bulmahn
    Department for the History of Open Space Planning

    Dr.-Ing. Anke Seegert
    Department for Planting Design

  • Institute of Environmental Planning

    Institute of Environmental Planning


    Landscape Planning and Nature Conservation
    Prof. Dr. Christina von Haaren

    Nature Conservation and Landscape Ecology
    Prof. Dr. Michael Reich

    Digital Environmental Planning
    Prof. Dr. Jochen Hack

    Behavioural Aspects of Environmental Planning
    Prof. Dr. Ann-Kathrin Kössler

    Ecosystem Services – economic and planning aspects
    Prof. Dr. Bettina Matzdorf

    Vegetation Management
    Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Prasse

    Applied Plant Ecology
    Apl. Prof. Dr. Michael Rode

    Spatial Planning and Regional Development
    Prof. Dr. Rainer Danielzyk